Wyoming State Math Contest

The State competition is sponsored jointly by WYMATYC, the Wyoming Council of Teachers of Mathematics (WCTM), the seven colleges, and UW.    It is named to honor the contest founder, Herb Wolsborn, and the Drazevich family of Rock Springs.  Wolsborn was a distinguished mathematics faculty member at NWC and the Drazevich family long provided financial support. The first contest, in 1956, was a local contest at Northwest College.

At present, we have 3 exams, 50 multiple-choice questions each, for each of three grade bands:
  • 7th & 8th grades (younger students may also compete)
  • 9th & 10th grades
  • 11th & 12th grades
Questions reflect the Wyoming Mathematics Content and Performance Standards.  Each grade band exam is divided into five parts of 10 questions each.  Students are given 20 minutes to complete each part.  

There are 9 testing sites, each with local awards and protocols.  Sites typically award medals to individual students in each grade band, with awards given to both 7th and 8th graders.  Each school with 9-10th graders or 11-12th graders is assigned team scores, the sum of its top three scoring students.  The top school at each site takes home a trophy.   To inquire about participating, contact one of the site organizers.

Updated Jan 2018

No comments:

Post a Comment